SEVENTH SEAL LIBRARY

God's Truth Not Smooth Words

A Royal Wedding ~~ poetic heritage

©copyright 2004 Bonita M Quesinberry, R.C.

 

One of my grandfathers, thrice great or more, 
came from Britain to America’s shore.
British aristocrats, he and his wife, 
quickly gained rich ground without any strife.
They were English, this Questinbury clan,
whose own slaves worked their Quesinberry land. 

Soon there were daughters catching young men’s eyes,
and handsome sons: tall, strong, ready to ride.
The youngest set out to see this nation,
slave driving not to be his vocation.
He rode rugged, wild southwest trails;
weathered hardships and never got frail.

Then one day, he met the girl of his dreams—
and, he must have been made for her, it seems—
for with her father it soon was agreed:
“A royal wedding to be,” was decreed.
She was a princess with long silken hair,
graceful in stride with features fine and fair.

Young Quesinberry started his new life,
wrote that he would bring home his special wife.
Slaves rushed to clean and dust the plantation,
planning many gala celebrations.
That royal bride must see them at their best,
and it’s highly polished family crest.

The long awaited day at last arrived:
two riders rode up the long, tree-lined drive.
Rejoicing turned to dismay and alarm:
there was an Indian on this son’s arm.
They never would receive a Cherokee:
forgot Questinburgs had fled Germany.

Thus, this his youngest son, father disowned;
 him and her sent from family and home.
The name’s spelling again would get a change,
Cherokee blood would subtly rearrange.
There are only a few Quesinberry’s,
and some of those spell it Quisenberry. 

My staunch grandfather asked about my thoughts
concerning this tree his forefathers wrought.
Fearing my boldness, my aunt held her breath;
sure I’d anger him, even cause his death.
“They were a bunch of snobs,” I bluntly said.
His laughter roared as his face turned bright red.

So, I’m a little Cherokee princess,
Then another bit of German empress,
And a wee bonnie lass of Irish cream,
together with some French and Brit, it seems.
Oh, and a Castilian Spanish quarter.
All these should just about set the mortar.

Of course, they did have that big plantation;
so who can say who are my relations?
Who and whatever, I do love them all.
They were a bunch of snobs! That is my call.
Perhaps, she’s why I love nature’s features:
trees and flowers, and all of God’s creatures.

 

 

16 November 2006 - Posted by | Birth, Christian, Fathers, Geneology, Humor, Love, Mothers, Parenting, Poem, Poems

5 Comments »

  1. Awww, thank you so much, Steve, for such wonderful encouragement to this “non-poet.” Between you and John and Ronda, one day I just might believe I am a poet. LOL! Of course, I’m from the old school: poetry isn’t poetry if it doesn’t rhyme. 🙂 To me, rhyme gives it a lyrical quality that I equate to music. Perhaps, one day, God will allow me to write as beautifully as He does. 🙂

    It’s so good to hear from you, dear brother! By the way, I just posted another poem: “Legacy of The Third Eye.” Yeah, it covers some of my heritage as well; so, you might like it. . . I hope. 🙂

    Much love and hugs,
    BonnieQ

    Comment by bonnieq | 21 November 2006 | Reply

  2. Wow! a harmonious blend of rhymes and colorful phrases. They sure do paint quite the picture. I thought something was missing throughout the poem, but after landing on the last two lines, there it was! Glory to God in the highest, for He not only brings you to completion, but your poems as well! Hope you’re doing well Bonnie. God bless.

    Steve

    Comment by Steve | 20 November 2006 | Reply

  3. Thank you, Ronda and John! Uh, but I hate to inform you that I’m no poet. LOL! Anyway, both you make me think I might one day be a poet. 🙂

    And, to you John, I am equally blessed that you found my website(s). 🙂 You lift me up and keep me going strong!

    Much love and hugs,
    BonnieQ

    Comment by bonnieq | 17 November 2006 | Reply

  4. Fabulous! How do you do that so beautifully? I am blessed to have found your site.

    Comment by John M. Kenney | 17 November 2006 | Reply

  5. I can relate. I think I have a little of everything in me too. Loved the poem.

    Comment by iluv2prshim | 17 November 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

